Efficient Cross Border Road Transport And Transit Networks In The Tripartite Region

The Tripartite Transport and Transit Facilitation Programme (TTTFP), a programme funded by the European Union (EU) under the 11th European Development Fund, has developed a number of policy, regulatory and strategic framework documents which were approved by Ministers of Transport at their meeting in October 2019 to enhance efficient cross border road transport and transit networks in the Tripartite region.

The harmonisation of the model laws, regulations, standards and systems in the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), East African Community (EAC) and Southern African Development Community (SADC) Tripartite Region is critical for development of regional infrastructures and promotion of economic development, trade and investment, and enhances efficient cross border road transport and transit networks.

The draft model laws and regulations seek to facilitate the domestication of the Multilateral Cross Border Road Transport Agreement (MCBRTA). At least eight countries -- Angola, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Namibia, Rwanda, United Republic of Tanzania, and Uganda -- are at different stages of changing existing laws based on the Model Laws. Implementation of the MCBRTA will facilitate reduction in transport costs and transit times for people and goods in the Member States.

In addition, the Vehicle Load Management Agreement (VLMA), Road Transport Model Laws, Model Regulations and Standards approved by the Tripartite Sectoral Committee of Ministers of Infrastructure in October 2019 are ready for consideration by the Tripartite Summit the first quarter of 2021.



Related News Articles